Celebrate the achievements of our home-grown premier athletes and grassroots heroes.

The Victorian Sport Awards is the night of nights for the Victorian sporting community, recognising and celebrating the achievements of our home-grown premier athletes, grassroots heroes and those who have shown commitment and dedication to community sport in Victoria.

Presented by the State Government of Victoria and Vicsport on Wednesday 26 February, 2020 at Marvel Stadium, the Victorian Sport Awards honours individual and team athletes, coaches, administrators and volunteers from both metropolitan and regional Victoria.

Each year the Victorian Sport Awards receives hundreds of nominations from State Sporting Associations, Regional Sport Assemblies, Local Government Authorities, teammates, club members, coaches or their local community in recognition of their outstanding contribution to sport and active recreation.

The Outstanding Media Coverage of Sport Award is new this year. This inaugural Award recognises the coverage of elite and community sport to the wider public via various online, digital, broadcast and/or print media platforms in 2019.

The Hon. Martin Pakula, Minister for Racing, Minister for Jobs, Innovation and Trade and Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events says:

“Congratulations to all the finalists, from world-beaters like Scotty James and Liz Watson to the community teams, volunteers and coaches who lead the way at grassroots level.”

“Juniors and masters, volunteers and professionals, individuals and teams – the Victorian Sport Awards recognise the very best in our sporting endeavours.”

Vicsport Chairman Ron Gauci says:

“The Victorian Sport Awards is a premier event on the Victorian sporting calendar. Vicsport is delighted to recognise and celebrate the wonderful achievements of our home-grown sporting heroes, from grassroots and community through to the elite level.

“The calibre of nominations in 2019 and subsequently the finalists chosen are an indication of the strength of our industry in Victoria and makes the process of judging winners a challenging but rewarding one. We look forward to honouring the success of our finalists at the 2019 Victorian Sport Awards in February.”

The quality and breadth of the nominations received makes selecting the finalists a difficult endeavour, which is why the 2019 Victorian Sport Awards invites 39 highly qualified people from the Victorian sports industry to constitute the judging panels charged with picking the finalists across the 18 categories.

Judges include people from various diverse sporting groups and roles including:

  • Steve Moneghetti AM OLY, represented Australia at four Olympic Games, four Commonwealth Games and six World Championships. Winner of the 1989 and 1995 Male Athlete of the Year and 2001 Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport Award
  • Kyle Vander Kuyp OLY, 12 times National Hurdles Champion, Olympic finalist
  • Sharelle McMahon, Two-time Netball World Champion, two-time Commonwealth Games gold medalist
  • Bill Mildenhall, all-time NBL referee games record holder, two-time Olympic referee

Held at Marvel Stadium, the Victorian Sport Awards will be attended by all finalists, family, friends, sporting organisations and clubs to celebrate the successes of elite and community sport in Victoria.

Last year’s Awards attracted 500 attendees including many of Victoria’s premier athletes and grassroots heroes.

Event details:

 – Wednesday 26 February, 2020

–  Marvel Stadium, Docklands

–  6pm – 7pm – Refreshments and canapes

–  7pm – 9.30pm – Awards ceremony

– 9.30pm – 10pm – Post-event networking and refreshments

To purchase tickets, visit www.victoriansportawards.com.au. For further information, contact Vicsport on 03 9698 8100, email awards@vicsport.com.au.