The fitness industry’s peak association Fitness Australia has today announced two new Directors and the re- election of a current Director, following the Fitness Australia 2020 Board elections last month.

Newly elected Directors include independent business owner, Edwina Griffin, who owns and runs Fitwomen and Fitmum Accreditation Programs in Queensland and New South Wales and Greg Oliver, CEO and MD of Fitness & Lifestyle Group. The 2020 elections also saw the re-election of current Director Justin McDonell from Collective Wellness Group.

Fitness Australia Chair Jayne Blake said the appointment of Greg Oliver and Edwina Griffin, as an independent business owner, ensured the Board had representation from the entire industry.

Ms Blake said:

“We are delighted to welcome Greg and Edwina to the Fitness Australia Board. Edwina brings more than 30 years’ experience within the fitness industry and also currently works within allied health. Her knowledge and skills within a fitness business, as a personal trainer and allied health will certainly strengthen Fitness Australia’s focus on being closely aligned with allied health in the future.”

“As CEO and MD Fitness & Lifestyle Group, a network of more than 395 sites worldwide servicing 720,000 members, Greg Oliver brings more than 40 years of fitness industry involvement and experience including advocacy to the Fitness Australia Board.

“This year’s Board elections also saw the re-election of Justin McDonell who has been a valuable Board Member since 2013. Together with all Directors, his contribution to the Fitness Australia Board has been exceptional, particularly with our focus on Service Excellence, Quality Assurance Employment and AusREP accreditation, which are designed to raise the bar of the industry and provide greater consumer confidence.

“I also wish to formally acknowledge and thank all unsuccessful candidates for their interest and support of the Fitness Australia, the caliber of contenders in 2020 was outstanding.”

The Fitness Australia Board now comprises of the following Directors:

  • Jayne Blake (independent, appointed Chair) NSW (expires 2021)
  • Chris Hicks, NSW (appointed, expires 2021)
  • Paige Buse, VIC (appointed, expires 2021)
  • Kate Corkery, ACT (appointed, expires 2021)
  • Jen Dugard, NSW (AusREP elected, expires 2022)
  • Chantal Brodrick, QLD (AusREP elected, expires 2022)
  • Edwina Griffin (elected, expires 2023)
  • Greg Oliver (elected, expires 2023)
  • Justin McDonell (elected, expires 2023).

    (note: appointed Directors have a two-year term; with elected Directors serving a three-year term)

Ms Blake said:

“The Fitness Australia Board is committed to delivering the strategic vision for Fitness Australia. 2020 has been a challenging year for many businesses, fitness professionals and the broader community. Fitness Australia and the whole fitness industry has worked hard to get back on track to provide an essential service to the community.”