Congratulations to this year’s winners!

The 2021 Australia Fitness Award winners have been announced today in an exclusive virtual event which saw 14 business and industry professionals take centre screen across multiple categories recognising the outstanding achievements of the industry over the past 12 months.

More than 1,000 nominations were received across the 12 individual, business and community categories and this year’s finalists include a mix of rural, regional and metro professionals and businesses.

Held by the nation’s peak fitness association, Fitness Australia, the Awards, which included an opening keynote address from Dylan Alcott OAM, recognise and celebrate individuals, businesses and community groups dedicated to improving the health and wellbeing of Australians by providing exceptional programs and high quality professional services.

Fitness Australia CEO, Barrie Elvish, congratulated the Australian Fitness Award winners and said the award recipients’ stories of commitment and excellence were outstanding.

Mr Elvish said:

“It was an honour to have Dylan Alcott OAM speak and present the Student of the Year award, he is an inspiration to all Australians.”

“To our Award winners, everyone announced today has demonstrated the upmost dedication to the health and wellbeing of their communities through consistently delivering high quality services in a professional and safe manner – in a year that has been very challenging for all of us.

“I would also like to extend a thank you to all of our sponsors who supported this year’s event, it’s fantastic to see the entire industry continuing to support each other.”

An expert panel, consisting of a diverse group of industry representatives, conducted a thorough assessment of each finalist across a range of areas including professionalism, customer care, knowledge and skills, safety, and leadership to select the category winners.

A video of this year’s virtual event is available to watch here

2021 Australian Fitness Awards Winners

Boutique Business of the Year

Gunnedah Health & Fitness, Maryanne Perkins, NSW (1 year registered)

Club Manager of the Year

Scott Russell Williams, Bikini Bods, NSW (1 year registered)

Multi-Service Business of the Year

Armadale Fitness and Aquatic Centre, David Duignam, WA (2 years registered)

Male Personal Trainer of the Year

Joshua Cox, Disability Sports Victoria, VIC (9 years registered/10 years in March 2022)

Female Personal Trainer of the Year

Suanne Lowery, Fitness Forever, WA  (11 years registered)

Community Innovation of the Year 

Toby Newman, Yarra Leisure, Richmond Rec Centre with the Collingwood Estate Gym, VIC (13 years registered)

Student of the Year

Jason Whiter, VIC, Academy of Fitness  (2 years registered) –

Male Group Exercise Instructor of the Year  

James Clarke, Do You Even Bootcamp!?, WA  (7 years registered)

Female Group Exercise Instructor of the Year  

Corinne Blight, Limitless Fitness and Nutrition, NSW (7 years registered)

Educator of the Year

Michelle (Mish) Wright, MishFit Education, VIC ( 9 years registered)

Mental Awareness Program of the Year

Urban Fitness Solutions, Leila Sithole, NSW (14 years registered) 

Quality Accredited Business of the Year

Aqua Pulse, Eagle Stadium, VIC (same management group – 4 years registered)

Life Time Member Awards

  • Jill Elizabeth Healy-Quintard
  • Dominic Yam

Member Love Award 

Xtend Barre